Gardening, 101: Pulmonaria officionalis

Wednesday, 10 April
Today I learned that plants are really quite tough and hardy, and will do their absolute best to survive even in the most trying of circumstances. This magnificent Pulmonaria officionalis is blooming wonderfully in the front garden, tucked under the shade of the Taxus canadensis trees, and producing more and more lovely rose-coloured blossoms each day.
.
I truly did not tend to this plant. I put it in the ground back filled the soil around it, and left it alone.
.
And look, here it is. Growing, spreading its leaves, becoming a beautiful addition to the gardens and filling my heart with joy.
.
Perhaps this is what God is trying to teach me, that I should grow where I am planted, and be truly beautiful.

Life has been challenging the past few weeks. I have struggled mightily not only in my soul, but in my thoughts and in my words. It is hard at times to understand what I am doing, or what God wants me to be doing, which is more important. And yet here I am, in this place, doing what I think is the right thing, saying what I think are the right words, and asking God’s help in all that I do.

And thus, I am here, growing where I have been planted. How blessed are the works of the Lord!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.