Gardening, 101: Hyacinthus orientalis ‘Delft Blue’

Thursday, 18 April
Today I made a remarkable observation in my garden: the Hyacinthus orientalus ‘Delft Blue’ and ‘Blue Jacket’ have come into full blossom, in remarkable shades of blue which they did not present last spring. These were only planted in the autumn of 2022, and bloomed for the first time in the spring of 2023. They have taken on a startling new dimension and beauty.
.
I have fallen in love with blue flowers. I cannot help it, they are truly magnificent. To be certain, there are probably several blue cultivars which I do not like, and which I should never consider for my garden. But, what I have planted here, and what I have observed have made me truly happy and very grateful for everything that God has given me.
.
The hyacinths, last year, were lavender and purple and lavender and purple. They were beautiful, to be certain, but they did not excite me as they do now.
.
I do not know what changed their colour; I only I only know that they are blue. Perhaps the bulbs have matured, and their roots have extended deep into the soil. Perhaps the light and the air and the weather has contributed to their variations. I’m not a botanist, I am only a novice gardener.
.
When I look upon these flowers I feel blessed. To observe and to celebrate such magnificence is truly a gift. I look at them and I marvel that they are here, that I planted these flowers, and that they have returned, brighter and even more beautiful than before. The petals are enormous. Some of them are almost the size of my hand and the overall display is breathtaking to behold.
.
God, thank You for these beautiful flowers!

.
.
.
.
#God #ThankYouGod #gardening #garden #gardens #gardendesign #gardeninspiration #gardenersofinstagram #instagarden #design #bloom #nature #natural #beauty #flower #floral  #backyardgarden #gardenlove #gardenlife #landscaping #mygarden #flowers #perennials #landscape #blessed #startup

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.